March Wrap Up

Hiya,

How are you all? I can’t believe we have nearly finished March. I know this is a little early for a wrap up but I was in the mood to write it. I think the daily posts made the month speed up! I am so proud of myself for keeping it up because some of the days were touch and go. It was really great to push past writers block because that is my worst enemy most of the time. I actually didn’t read much outside of my course reading this month so this is probably going to be kind of short. Let’s hop in.

Read:

For my course this month I read 5 books.
Ariel by Sylvia Plath, which I really didn’t enjoy. I studied her poetry in high school and I disliked it just as much then. There were a few that I enjoyed but on the whole her stuff was too depressing and vague for me personally.

Next was Lolita. Which I enjoyed. I felt bad for enjoying because its about a paedophile. But it was written in a really interesting way and I would recommend it as an intriguing read.

Then I read Heart of Darkness. Which I hated. I don’t even know why I hated it, it just infuriated me so profusely.

After that I read We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves by Karen Joy Fowler. I really enjoyed it. I had actually wanted to read this for a while before the course, however, I did not see the plot twist coming at all. I didn’t realise how much it would annoy me. But I found it very interesting because of that factor, and I understand why the turning point was so early on in the novel because it gives you time to come to terms with this new knowledge and it means you have the rest of the novel to reflect on what has happened. I also liked that Rosemary was both a reliable and unreliable narrator. Part of me didn’t completely trust her, and yet another part of me resonated with her because not having a perfect memory of situations is a very human trait. Yeah, it was a very interesting read because I didn’t know things like this happened.

And the last thing I read for my course was Giovanni’s Room. I am going to be honest and say I did skim read this because I had essay’s due and not much time to do it but what I read of it I enjoyed. It was an interesting concept and it was nice to read.

The only other thing I’ve read this month was Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli…twice. I listened to Gibi ASMR do a read through and then I reread it myself and I adored it. Great book. Made me want to be a better person. I wrote a review of it HERE if you want to check that out. I could not recommend this enough!

Currently Reading:

I am still reading Matched (Matched #1) by Ally Condie. I wanted to get to it but I didn’t so maybe April will be it’s month.

In the Society, officials decide. Who you love. Where you work. When you die. Cassia has always trusted their choices. It’s hardly any price to pay for a long life, the perfect job, the ideal mate. So when her best friend appears on the Matching screen, Cassia knows with complete certainty that he is the one…until she sees another face flash for an instant before the screen fades to black. Now Cassia is faced with impossible choices: between Xander and Ky, between the only life she’s known and a path no one else has ever dared follow—between perfection and passion.

The other thing I am currently reading is Obscured by C.M Boers. I read this a couple of years ago when it was sent to me to review however, looking back I don’ think I gave it a very fair review so I am rereading it to see whether I still agree.

Abby Martin thought she was an ordinary girl about to start high school. But when her mom announces that they’re moving to Arizona, vivid nightmares start plaguing Abby’s nights. As she settles into her new school and a cute guy named Pete catches her eye, she hopes that life might somehow get back to normal. To Abby’s horror, “normal” becomes a thing of the past as she’s swept up into a world of immortal protectors wielding supernatural gifts. When Abby realizes she’s a pawn in a centuries-old feud, she must figure out who she can trust before she’s caught in the crossfire. Prepare yourself for heart-pounding suspense in the world of Obscured, where nothing is as it seems and danger lurks in unexpected places.

Music Faves:

I have had so many music faves this month, in no particular order…

Sucker by The Jonas Brothers. My inner child is screaming with joy! Plus it’s a jamming beat.
I have been loving this again, even though it’s popularity has died down a bit. I love the Spanish influences. Plus the scene at the start of the music video is funny XD
I have been loving a lot of his versions of musical songs but this is my favourite and most played of them all, swiftly followed by Once Upon a December.

I know I said in no particular order but by far my favourite music of the month has been Panic! At the Disco. I have always loved Brendon Urie but this month the love has just exploded and it has been uncontrollable, like basically all I have listened to other than the three above. Here are my top five Panic! At the Disco tracks of the month in no particular order. Also all the music videos are so great XD

TV/Movie Faves:

This month I got through quite a bit in the way of shows and films and all of them were surprisingly good!

The Order – I adored 5/5 Stars
Isn’t It Romantic – Brillianty Rom-Com, 4/5 Stars
The Legend of Tarzan – Love Alexander Skarsgard. 4/5 Stars
Romeo x Juliet – An incredible Anime Adaptation of Shakespeare. Sobbed throughout. 4/5 stars.
Akatsuki no Yona – perfect! I wanted more romance but other than that, it’s great. All the characters were so lovable. 5/5 Stars.
Merlin – I have been rewatching, I forgot how much I loved this show when it was first on 5/5 stars.
Dynasty – (Season 1) I think I am only 10 eps in but I am loving the drama so far. 4/5 Stars
Camelot – I rewatched a couple episodes just cause I was craving some Jamie Campbell Bower. 4/5 Stars. This was show was cut too short.
Soredomo Seki Wa Utsukushii – Another great anime, even if the age gap was exaggerated for the show whilst it wasn’t so prevalent in the manga.
Dumplin’ – A cute and uplifting movie. 4/5 Stars.

Favourite Thing This Month:

This month’s favourite is pretty recent but I decided I was going to try and learn Japanese. I am learning Hiragana and it’s coming along slowly. There is obviously an extra step as not only do I need to learn what the words mean and their pronunciation, but also their symbol so I can read it. But so far I am adoring it! It is so rewarding!

So that’s it for today’s post. I am going to attempt to continue the daily posts for as long as possible but who knows how long it will last XD I hope you enjoyed this and that March treated you well ❤ See you soon!

Thanks and Happy Reading,

One thought on “March Wrap Up

Leave a comment