Books I Bought in August 2020

Hi guys!

Happy Friday.! How had your day been going so far? I bought some eyeshadow palettes the other day and they just arrived in the post so I am all giddy about getting to play with them!
Following a similar theme to recent months, I have been really good again this month with not spending money on books when my TBR is exploding already. I have more books than I did last month but they are all e-books this time around. Anyway, I will stop rambling and just show you the books I got this month.

E-Book

The Trouble with Flying by Rochelle Morgan. This was a freebie on the kindle. Not kindle unlimited, it was just free. The blurb reminded me a lot of The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer. E. Smith. I really liked the premise of that book so I wanted to give this a shot too. Hopefully I will get to it in September. Plus, the title and the cover reminded me of a Kasie West kind of thing so I just had to grab it.

Sarah doesn’t talk to strangers. Aiden won’t shut up. When they find themselves next to each other on a plane, unexpected sparks begin to fly…
Sarah doesn’t talk to strangers. It’s awkward, stressful, and there’s the uncontrollable blushing to worry about. When she boards a plane to fly home after an overseas holiday, she plans to stick her nose in a book and ignore everyone around her. Aiden’s terrified of flying, and it’s his first time on a plane. If he can distract himself by talking non-stop for the entire flight, he will. Too bad for Sarah he’s sitting right next to her. Against all Sarah’s expectations, she ends up enjoying Aiden’s company. They laugh, argue, concoct stories about other passengers, and accidentally hold hands during the turbulence. When the time comes to say goodbye, Sarah can’t help the crazy thought that she shouldn’t let Aiden go. Then he kisses her.
And then he’s gone.
With her world turning upside down in more ways than one, Sarah has to make a decision: stick with the safe, predictable life that’s been mapped out for her, or find the courage to go after what she truly wants.

Happy Scoops by Katie Coughran. This was another kindle freebie – again not kindle unlimited – just free. Again, it sounded like another super cute YA romance and I’ve just really been craving them recently so I grabbed it. You can’t say no when it’s free.

Chryssa Parker is about to start her senior year of high school and she knows that it’s going to be totes amazing. As Team Captain of the Cheerleading Squad and President of the Student Body Government, Chryssa is ready to be the smartest and hottest that Intellectual Elite has ever graduated. However, when a pile of traffic infractions show up in the Parker mailbox, Chryssa’s lawyer parents decide it’s time for Chryssa to learn some responsibility. Forced to become a sign dancer dressed as a cone at her parent’s ice cream shop, Chryssa doesn’t think she’ll ever survive the job. Obligated to give up so much of her life, Chryssa is completely surprised when she learns what makes her truly Happy.

The Practice Boyfriend by Christina Benjamin. Now this one is free on kindle unlimited. But I don’t have kindle unlimited, so I paid the extortionate price of £0.83!! I know right!! So scandalous hahaha. And I bet you can’t guess the genre of this one now can you? Yup…another YA Romance. I’ve been going through a phase of that being what I’m in the mood for I guess.

Practice makes perfect…or so she thought
4 weeks to find Mr. Right?
No problem. At least not for Hannah Stark.
The straight A high school senior has never met a challenge she couldn’t conquer.
With 4 weeks left before graduation she’s determined to land a date with her lifelong crush, Harrison Cohl.
The problem? He’s Stanton Prep’s most popular bachelor!
But like all things in life, Hannah believes practice makes perfect.
Her plan?
Bribe bad boy, Cody Matthews into teaching her everything he knows about dating.
He’s the perfect guy for the job.
Quiet, broody, outcast . . . she’d never fall for someone like him. And if Cody wants Hannah to continue tutoring him so he can graduate, he can’t say no.
I mean what’s the harm? Fake feelings can’t get you hurt, right?

Gifted

(I was gifted all of these books from Netgalley.)

I Hate You, I Love You (Pt.1) by Bailey B. I have actually already read and reviewed this. I was a decent read that I enjoyed.

Logan
She’s beautiful. Fierce. Nothing at all like the girl I used to know, which is absolutely terrifying because Danika Winters is the only person outside of that room who knows the truth.
She could ruin me, and I’m not talking about my reputation. I couldn’t give two shits about what the kids at St. A’s think. I’m talking major, life altering, jail time ruined.
I’ll do whatever it takes to keep her quiet. Even if it means destroying the only person I’ve ever cared about.
Danika
They say when you meet the person you’re supposed to be with, time stops. Your brain takes in every microdetail, committing it all to memory, and you’re hit with this unexplainable need. A need to get to know that person, talk to that person, simply be beside that person. And then there’s the kiss. A fire spreading, earth-shattering, kiss that wipes all others from your memory. I’ve felt that pull towards someone once, and it consumed me.
I wasn’t supposed to fall for my middle school best friend. But he wasn’t supposed to break my heart.

Slated by Alexis Sands. I have sadly already DNF’ed this. It came with a few warnings about drug abuse and sex – but it didn’t disclose that it had a very unhealthy and toxic relationship as the main plot for the book and I just felt very uncomfortable reading it. Hopefully they add that warning in because the writing was actually really good. It just wasn’t for me.

Sloane Slate was diagnosed with borderline personality disorder. Twice. She knows what that means – No lasting relationships.
But when she meets Connor, their steamy role-play sizzles with undeniable chemistry. But why does he go days without messaging? Why he won’t commit? Behind her party-girl persona, she can’t stop overanalyzing. Her reckless lifestyle and an unexpected friendship with a drug dealer quickly transform her life from upbeat rom-com to twisted docudrama. Sloane masks her dark deceptions, but those secrets could cost her a future.
Warning: Slated contains sensitive content dealing with mental illness and recreational drug use. It is recommended for readers eighteen years of age and older. There is conflict resolution, but the threads of tension continue in Book Two.

Remember Me by Mikael Lemieux. I actually started reading this last night. I’m 40% of the way through and so far I am really liking it. It’s a very intriguing plot that makes you want to keep reading and I can’t wait to see how Madeline and Elliott’s relationship blossoms out of all the nightmares that have just happened. Plus, isn’t the cover beyond stunning!!

Madeline and Elliot. That is all everyone talked about, Madeline and Elliot’s partnership was the envy of the dancefloor. Everyone in their life could feel how well they fit together like puzzle pieces. Their story an unspoken truth between two people growing together, perfecting their dancing career for over 10 years. It made everything complicated. Elliot was promised to another and Madeline was forced to be supportive for her best friend. But how? How to tell your partner how you feel when they mean so much to you but you want them to be happy? How to live everyday with the pain of loving someone without knowing if they feel the same about you. Until the day, everything is taken away. Until one day, your best friend, a friend you swore to never give up on falls harder than ever before. It was always Elliot and Madeline, but now Elliot must fight for Madeline to keep his promise. Elliot fights to find a way to make her remember him, even at the risk of a broken heart.

That’s all the books that I got this month. Before today’s questions I just want to say I hope you all have a fabulous weekend and I can’t wait to hear about what you got up to on Monday! See you then ❤

What books have you bought this month?
Have you read any of the books I’ve just hauled?

Are you doing anything fun this weekend?

12 thoughts on “Books I Bought in August 2020

      1. Great choices! Mine would also be The Fill-in Boyfriend and PS I like You.
        Katie West, Jen Bennet and countless authors write such sweet romance books and I’m obsessed with them 💖

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment